Plough Road, Great Bentley, Colchester, CO7 8LD

01206 250331

Great Bentley Primary School

Growing together - making a difference

The Full Board of Governors meet three times during the academic year, with a variety of committees also delegated to carry out the tasks listed below:

The Curriculum and Pupil Related Matters Committee meets termly and is responsible for all curriculum issues and for ensuring that the school environment is a safe and happy place.

The Finance & Premises Committee meets termly and is responsible for all financial matters, as it manages the school budget. It is also responsible for all premises and health and safety issues, including the upkeep of the buildings and grounds.

The Personnel and Pay Committee meets termly and is responsible for all staff related issues.

The Staff Discipline and Appeals Committees only meet if required.

Governors monitor aspects of the School Development Plan and also have individual responsibilities for monitoring the delivery of the school curriculum.



Chair of Governors - Kevin Plummer 


Vice Chair of Governors - Jo Herbert  Biography .pdf



Scott Young

Luke Edwards

Natalie Denison

Henry Fairbanks   Biography .pdf

Michael Giles

Charlotte Stubbs   Biography .pdf

Ian Butler


Staff Governors

Tracey Caffull

Claire Bourne

Hannah Upston (Observer)



Click on the link for information about the Governors on the 'Get information about schools' website.

Great Bentley Primary School - GOV.UK (


As part of its financial responsibilities, all maintained schools must publish the following information:

  • a nil return for the number of employees earning over £100k
  • Click on the link to the DfE benchmarking website     


Governing body minutes are available on request.